3 Things I do on Campus to Stay Active

But first: Creating my blog = Greatest decision ever!

“How does one become a butterfly?” she asked pensively.
“You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.”
– Trina Paulus

This is my 6th post and I have been itching to write something new. Last time I mentioned I’d be writing less because of finals coming up and needing to study. That’s because I am a slow learner and need to study twice as much as the next person in order to get good grades! But I’ve found what works for me is a little thing called REPETITION.

Like hard core, do the same exact math problem 25 times kinda repetition. I literally filled up a 3 subject notebook in the first month of class >.< I have never done so much math in my life. I can’t even believe I know how to do some of this stuff, esp because I am the one who whips out their phone to calculate the tip at a restaurant.

[SIDENOTE] I know, you move the decimal…or something…do you know how many people have tried to teach me how to do this w/out my phone calculator?? No! I don’t want to. I want my phone calculator.

All the studying is taking a lot of time and energy, but that’s ok because I’m making better grades & that’s the first thing PT schools look at :))

What I do on campus in order to maintain some level of activity:

1. Walk: I make sure I park far away from my classes so I end up walking a lot throughout the day. As a student, sitting down all day, the more you are up and walking, the better! [only do this during the day when its safer…I want you parked right up on the building if you have night classes]

[FUN FACT:] In the hospital, after you have surgery, they try to get you up and walking that same day so that you can activate your muscles, prevent DVT (aka blood clot), & get the blood flowing bc it promotes tissue healing!

2. Stairs: When you use the bathroom, use the upstairs bathroom so you’re doing extra work & using different muscles. Also, randomly get up from wherever you’re studying and go up and down the stairs a few times throughout the day. Will people think you’re weird for this? Yup. Will your ass look better? Yup.

3. Use what you got: There is a track at my school and I go walk a few laps and talk to someone from my inner circle (aka fam/specific friends/boyfriend) on the phone. Whoever said multitasking was bad for you just didn’t know how to do it right.

[SIDENOTE] Post on the importance of your Inner Circle coming soon!

These 3 things keep me active but don’t get me too sweaty for when I’m on campus all day.

P.S. I am absolutely loving life right now. It is amazing how pursuing something and going 100% ALL IN can make you the happiest you’ve ever been. I hope you guys are happy too. If not, I hope you change whatever it is in your life that is making you unhappy. You deserve to wake up happy and excited for your day.

I’m off to make a hot cup of chamomile and drench my hair in coconut oil for some much needed deep conditioning :))

What keeps you motivated to keep pushing for your goals? Anything you like to remember when you’re going through a tough time? What gives you that extra push?

72 thoughts on “3 Things I do on Campus to Stay Active

  1. When I was in college, I didn’t have a car. No choice but to walk. And it was a very cold place (and snowy) in the winter. Plus the dorms and classroom were separated by a 1/4 mile walk (that was just to get from one side to the other, you also had to walk to get to the 1/4 mile and to your classroom, of course).

    It was 30+ years ago and of course it was uphill in the snow both ways. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Short-term vs long-term gratification. I’m in it for the long haul, so I don’t let short-term gratification derail my long-term goals. They are typically the more important, life-improving goals that are worth some sacrifice for.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I’m loving the enthusiasm of your posts! Staying active by using what you have around you is a great thing – and it is easier on the budget than getting one of those expensive gym passes 😉 I love going for walks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have always been impressed by triathlon – not only are you guys incredibly fit, but you also have the best time management (like during transitions!). Glad to hear of your success with it. Thx for commenting :))

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I thought that would help
    I tell you a secret
    It took most of my adult life
    To learn how to add, subtract,multiple,and divide
    It just didn’t make any sense till I could apply it to my daily life
    patience my friend
    And never let them see you sweat
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jess! you already have 38 likes on this post and this is only your 6th post! okay miss popular thing! lol. uhm.. I am so happy you have been keeping up with the blog! also very proud of you for sticking with it during school and getting good grades (which I suck at math) I almost didn’t graduate because of it! lol. – ONE of the MOST nerve wrecking times of my life. I finally had to break down and use my cousin as a tutor, otherwise I would have failed and never graduated.

    Also, I am looking forward to learning about your “inner circle”, that will be a good post.
    You should write about your internships, clinicals too! lol. I think that would be fun, more work, but probably fun, you should also talk about exercise science! hahahahaha only because I am bias. LOL.

    You do a very good job of writing on your blog Jess, this may become a full time job for you, writing 🙂 haha

    Shay-lon

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol shay-lon you are so crazy & these comments are making me laugh! You are SO encouraging :))
      And I know exaaaactly what you mean by grades being nerve racking – I also almost didn’t graduate. It was not pretty. But see, we both turned it around!
      & thx for the suggestions – I will do my best to meet all expectations – even biased ones Lol
      I am enjoying blogging & will prob continue as long as it’s this fun :)) Thank you for bringing all that happy & all that positivity over here ❤

      Like

  6. Hey there! I loved this post!! You have such a good mindset about doing the little things to make a larger difference, and I admire that a ton! More people should take this kind of proactive and positive approach to keeping themselves accountable fitness wise, even with something as hectic as a busy schedule. 🙂

    Thanks also for following and liking my posts, and I will be mor than happy to follow you too!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Jess – You are writing one of my favorite new blogs. You give me the information I can use in my daily life and you always put a smile on my face. How I wish you were in our city for PT. Tom and I both have prescriptions for new physical therapy. For a new blogger, you are a positive breath of fresh air. I may not get often, but I will get here. Sheri

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, Sheri, get here anytime you can/want! I’m also glad you’re both going to physical therapy. I have a lot of faith in it as a way to help people move easier in their regular lives. I hope it does some good for you and Tom too. Thank you for the kind words – you know how to make a girl smile!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, the university I went to had a campus gym and you had to pay for a membership with your tuition every semester. They also offered classes that would give you 1 credit to encourage people to stay fit, stuff from pool table to ping pong to belly dancing haha. Looks like you got it all down to a T though so I definitely admire that

    Like

Leave a Reply

