5-Points Friday: Neuro Disorders and Work Clothes

5-Points Friday is a new series I’m doing to wrap up a week’s worth of lessons learned, healthy snacks, and little bursts of what I’m up to. It’s also a progress report of how I’m becoming a top contender for PT school. Enjoy!

New purchase I’m loving —

Last weekend I went shopping in Fargo, North Dakota with some friends. Fargo is about an hour and a half drive from where I live, and it has a bigger & better mall.

I was on a mission to get more professional work clothes, and I ended up getting some amazing deals!

I got 2 tops from Loft: a silk flowy top & the cutest blazer. I love Loft because their clothes fit me really well and they have a lot of extra petite sizes. I swear “small” sizes are getting larger every time I shop.

blazer close up 1
Love little details like the asymmetry & side zipper.

Plus, I’m trying to add more professional looking, but still cute, clothes to my wardrobe.

Oh & A F F O R D A B L E.

I’m trying to save as much money as possible because PT school tuition ain’t cheap. I stay in the Clearance section.

This blazer was….wait for it… … … $4.88 !! (the blouse was the same price!)

blazer full pic 1
Building a professional wardrobe piece by piece.

Physical therapy fun fact —

At the clinic I currently volunteer at, I have gotten to see a few rare diseases/disorders in patients.

One of these rare disorders is: Charcot-Marie-Tooth disorder (“Charcot” pronounced “Shark-O”, silent ‘t’)

It is an inherited neurological disorder. I observed a middle-aged man who has this and displays a lot of the symptoms including muscle weakness in legs and feet, high arches of the foot, and slow reaction time. And when I say high arches of the foot, I mean really high. Like very obvious to even someone untrained (like me). He was also very slow to respond in a conversation.

One interesting part of this whole thing, is that a person can have this disorder, but sometimes symptoms don’t show unless the person goes through something extremely stressful. Like a death in the family.

In the case of the man I observed, he had recently lost a child, which most likely brought on the symptoms.
{source} my observations in the clinic

Recipe I’m experimenting with —

I just bought a couple cans of chickpeas to make this recipe, so I’ll have my own pics up soon!

Exciting news I received —

So last week I told you guys that I had an interview for a group exercise instructor position with Kelly, one of the Fitness Coordinators, at a local gym.

It was pretty casual & a lot of fun because it ended up being a great conversation about what classes are available to teach and what those classes are like. I also got a grand tour of the facility – – which is beautiful.

The whole thing took an hour. After thanking Kelly, I rushed back to work. When I got home for the day I saw that she had emailed me. She said she would love to have me on their team! 

I am beyond excited and plan on sharing more about the job once I begin. It’s actually a bigger deal than I thought it would be, so I can’t wait to take the next steps – which I’ll talk about in another post :))

Next week, I’ll be a participant in some of the classes that I will eventually be teaching, so I’ll have an update on that too.

Most popular tweet —

I joined in on the #NationalNutritionMonth twitter chat the other day & am really glad I did!

I keep seeing (on Twitter) in the PT community, that it is important to know how to work with other health care providers, and to build a network in your career as a PT.

I got to see how dietitians network on social media, and what they think of National Nutrition Month, food trends, and even dream kitchen gadgets!

What is your dream kitchen gadget/tool?
Where do you get your professional/work clothes?
Are you trying any new recipes for National Nutrition Month?

I play all day on Snap & Twitter!
Come say hi :))

TWITTER: @ptcontender
SNAPCHAT: ptcontender

26 thoughts on “5-Points Friday: Neuro Disorders and Work Clothes

  1. I look forward to this every Friday <3. Love the top and I'm with you, clearance all the way haha. CONGRATS on the job!! It can be a little overwhelming when you first start out, but it's still a ton of fun. I've been teaching for a year and a half and I still get super pumped to lead a class 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Monica, yeah 5-Points Friday will be every Friday now! This was my 3rd week trying out the new series & I like it doing it so far :)) I’m usually not a schedule-kinda person so we’ll see how long I keep it up! Thank you! 💕

      Like

  2. Congratulations on getting the job! I don’t really know much about physical therapy but I can imagine the kind of patience and empathy it requires. What a wonderful way to be making a difference.

    As for professional clothes, I shop at Sears when there are sales. I usually can’t find things in my size at most places.

    Ashlynn | http://thecrimsoncardigan.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice! & thank you for the work clothes recommendation. I don’t shop a lot so I’ll make sure to check them out next time.

      Also, just bc you mentioned it — physical therapists are experts in the movement system of the body (anything that helps us move) ;))

      Like

  3. Hi Jess!
    I got behind on reading blogs and have been trying to catch up on your 5-point-Fridays! I absolutely love this series of yours and it’s fun to read about what you are up to!
    That blazer is stunning and such a great deal!!!
    Congratulations on becoming a group fitness instructor!!! That is super exciting and I know you will be great because you are so upbeat, personable, and knowledgeable about health, fitness, and injury prevention. What kinds of classes are you going to teach?!?!
    Yes, I am a few months behind on reading your posts, but I am looking forward to catching up! Especially now that it is summertime!!!

    ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg I’m so behind too! & it’s totally fine I know you’re busy & prob winding down from the school year 💗
      Also, thanks for the support & actually I’m holding off on teaching classes right now because I’m in the thick of applying to PT schools now! Pop Pilates is my favorite so maybe something similar? I’ll let you know when i figure it out though ;))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

